A Tribute to Alan Moore

My favourite writer

Leo Cookman
7 min readMay 24, 2024

When I am asked (not that often) about who my favourite person-who-does-a-thing is, I often try to shift the question to what my favourite things are, because I don’t like to focus on the individual. Things like writing a book, making a film, recording or performing music, is almost never the work of one individual and I find it reductive to single out one person as the prime example of stuff I like. I have been asked in the past who my favourite writer is, for instance, and I find it hard to answer. I find it even harder to come up with a top ten. This is because, usually, a good artist almost always has a varied back catalogue, and usually one that varies in quality. For instance I love Bob Dylan but only a handful of albums up to Blood on the Tracks, after which I lose interest. When it comes to authors, I will find a book I like and then dive into their back catalogue often to find the rest of the work doesn’t match it, or is too similar, to be of interest. But, if pressed, and someone were to ask who my favourite author of all time is, my mind immediately jumps to one name: Alan Moore.

For those of you who don’t know, Alan Moore is a British writer who began his career in comic books. While he has since turned to writing straight literature these days, it is his work within the comic book field that he is best known for. He is the author…

--

--

Leo Cookman

Peripatetic Writer. “Time’s Lie” out now from Zero Books.